Lake Mac Festival of Surfing crowns nine new champs

21 January 2018
(Merewether beach, Newcastle, NSW, AUSTRALIA)
SURFEST’S opening event for 2018 – The Lake Mac Festival of Surfing – held at Redhead beach over the weekend saw champions crowned in a whopping nine events.

A weekend blessed with perfect blue skies and a one metre swell fanned by a nor-easter saw huge crowds converge on Redhead beach to watch the nation’s top SUP surfers seek to claim some of the purse on offer in Australasia’s richest SUP competition.

Surfers from around the nation, as well as international athletes from Japan and Peru, competed in a range of events backed by Lake Macquarie City Council and ECS Australia for a total prize pool worth more than $25,000.

The ECS SUP – Australasia’s richest SUP competition – mens’ open division was won by reining Australian SUP champion Kai Bates (Mollymook, NSW), while Queensland firefighter and current ISA world champion Shakira Westdorp (Gold Coast, QLD) claimed the women’s trophy.

Meteorologist James Casey from Sydney’s northern beaches stood on top of the podium in the men’s open division of the inaugural ECS BOP (Paddle Battle), while professional lifeguard Terrene Black from the Central Coast won the women’s division. Savannah Fitzsimmons from the Gold Coast grabbed the trophy in the amateur division of her very first BOP outing.

Lake Mac Festival of Surfing: Results
Over 30s shortboard
1. Mick Body
2. Paul Snow
3. Simon Hassan
4. Justin Lee

Over 40s shortboard
1. Paul Snow
2. Andy Brinkworth
3. Justin Lee
4. Sean Lancaster

Open Shortboard
1. Connor Lee
2. Jon Haydon
3. Mick Body
4. Noah Litchfield

1. Harry Maskell
2. Matt Rawson
3. Shane Ross
4. Shane Baker

1. Redhead B
2. Redhead A

Mixed SUP
1. Marty Cole
2. Glen Turner
3. Matt Rawson
4. Mitch Skilton

ECS BOP Mens Open
1. James Casey
2. Harry Maskell
3. Wesley Fry

ECS BOP Womens Open
1. Terrene Black
2. Shakira Westdorp
3. Karla Gilbert

ECS BOP Amateur
1. Savannah Fitzsimmons
2. Skylar Raynar