Port of Newcastle 2015 Stars of the Future announced

In 2015 the Port of Newcastle has again sponsored the Surfest Stars of the Future.

Surfers and their families will receive advice from a range of surf industry professionals about how to best perform out of the water through the unique Port of Newcastle Stars of the Future program.

The program focuses on the provision of advice and information – including an address from the general manager of the Australasian Association of Surfing Professionals – aims to assist young surfers consider how what they do in their daily activities can massively impact their surfing future.

The 16 successful local surfers to benefit from the range of expert advice and guidance provided at Surfest are:

Ruby Voyzey, Emma Cram, Joey Voyzey and Zane Clifford from Bay Area Boardriders. Tayla Reynolds, Danielle Hancock, Madison Poole, Morgan Cibilic, Luke Hamilton and Sam McGregor form Merewether Surfboard Club. Max Moser-Finch and Charlotte Parsons from Bar Reef Boardriders. William Smith from Catho Boardriders. Connor Lee, Sam Conrick and Josh Stollard from Redhead Boardriders.

Surfest Organiser Mr Smith said, “The Port of Newcastle Stars of the Future program is critical in teaching up-and-coming surfers the skills they otherwise would not get without this program and the generous support of Newcastle Port Corporation,”

Surfing Newcastle Treasurer and member of the Hunter Sports Academy panel, John Harvey said, “There is so much young surfing talent in and around Newcastle at the moment it will be difficult to chose the best to be a part of the Port of Newcastle Stars of the Future. This is a very promising period in surfing development in the region. This promotion by Surfest enhances the opportunities for our your surfers.”

The Port of Newcastle Stars of the Future program comprising of a number of invited male and female surfers under the age of 16 years will take place at Surfest with a workshop on Thursday 19 February and an expression session on Merewether Beach on Sunday February 22 at the Surfest contest site.